MINUTES

Eugene City Council and Joint Public Hearing with Lane County Board of Commissioners Harris Hall, 125 East 8th Avenue Eugene, Oregon 97401

April 17, 2017 5:30 p.m.

Councilors Present: Emily Semple, Betty Taylor, Alan Zelenka, George Poling, Greg Evans,

Claire Syrett via phone, Chris Pryor

Councilors Absent: Mike Clark

Lane County Board of Commissioners Present: Jay Bozievich, Pete Sorenson, Pat Farr, Gary Williams

Mayor Vinis opened the April 17, 2017, meeting of the Eugene City Council. Commissioner Farr opened the April 17, 2017, meeting of the Lane County Board of Commissioners.

- 1. PUBLIC HEARING: An Ordinance Concerning Long Range Transportation Planning; Adopting the Eugene 2035 Transportation System Plan; Amending the Eugene-Springfield Metropolitan Area General Plan (Metro Plan); Amending the Eugene-Springfield Metropolitan Area Transportation Plan (TransPlan); Amending Sections 9.050, 9.8010, 9.9650, of the Eugene Code, 1971; Amending the Street Classification Map; Amending Ordinance No. 20528 (to Delete Section 67); Repealing Section 9.9525 of the Eugene Code, 1971, Repealing Ordinance No. 20322 (2003 Central Area Transportation Study); and Providing for an Effective Date.
 - 1. Fred Merten Concerned about proposed housing development in area of Delta/Beltline.
 - 2. Jean Rubel Supported infrastructure improvements to Delta/Beltline.
 - 3. Dennis Gardner Supported changes to Delta/Beltline; infrastructure is unstable at Delta/Beltline.
 - 4. Mark Robinowitz Supported realignment of Delta/Beltline ramps; traffic has peeked.
 - 5. Matt McRae Supported the TSP meeting energy and safety goals of the city.
 - 6. Mike Phillips Supported widening Delta Highway between Ayres and Green Acres roads.
 - 7. John Faville Supported inclusion of streets that lead into Delta/Beltline in the TSP.
 - 8. Jim Higgins Concerned about additional traffic on Delta/Beltline; unsafe.
 - 9. Susan Smith Believes transportation issues exist on Delta Highway.
 - 10. Anne Daughtry Supported widening and speed limit changes to Delta Highway.
 - 11. Jim Neu Supported including Climate Recovery Ordinance goals and benchmarks in TSP.
 - 12. Mack Crenshaw Supported keeping Delta/Beltline improvements in the TSP.
 - 13. Wally Anderson Supported brining in the community into the process and safety improvements.
 - 14. John Hager Concerned about the Beltline Bridge and potential traffic on Hunsaker.
 - 15. Russell McDanie Concerned about safety of the Delta/Beltline interchange.
 - 16. Kevin Reed Supported acting in collaboration with neighborhoods about Delta/Beltline.
 - 17. Laurie Powell Supported an amendment to include emission measurements in the TSP.
 - 18. Patty Hine Supported including Climate Recovery Ordinance goals and benchmarks in TSP.
 - 19. Debra McGee Supported including Climate Recovery Ordinance goals and benchmarks in TSP.

- 20. Ric Ingham Supported adoption of the TSP; it will enhance the communities.
- 21. Elise Self Concerned about safety on Delta Highway.
- 22. James Self Concerned about safety on Delta Highway.
- 23. Zach Mulholland Supported greenhouse gas analysis in the TSP and looking to the future.
- 24. Janet Bevirt Concerned about downgrading designation of intersections from D to E.

The meeting adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Beth Jonest

Beth Forrest City Recorder